top of page
  • girlwithabookshelf

Looking for Alaska, by John Green


Hii everyone,

It is defenitely time to review one of the #girlwithabookclub reads! On those reviews I will share both my own opinion as the whole club's opinion to give you the best insight in the book :) . Looking for alaska was our first read in april, it tells the story of miles, a clumsy boy with no friends who takes of and goes to a boardingschool where he meets the colonel, his roommate who will turn in to his best friend, aswell as the intruging Alaska Young, a girl with an extraordinary smile, a beautiful body and a deeper layer miles cannot seem to get through. She draws him into her reckless world and sparkling group of friends. It seems as if miles has finally pulled the right straw in life, until it all takes a turn and goes downhill. Only one thing miles is certain of: after meeting Alaska Young, his life will never be the same again. . So I thought this book was fun, but as the rest of the bookclub thought too, the story was built around the characters in this book. Those people, miles, alaska, they are what pulled you into this book. That is why some of the members did not like it, or John Greens writing in general. I myself thought this book was above all very interesting and it certainly was a book beginning writers can learn a lot from. The events in the story were not what made me like this book, it was the technique behind it that pulled me in. Even though these characters were so deep and well evolved like i had never read before, the lack of events could make the book less fun sometimes. I myself am certain of one thing too, as far as it goes my reading will never be the same after reading about Alaska young and her amazing but complicated personality. . Looking for alaska by John Green is in store for €10,- . All the love, E

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page