top of page
  • girlwithabookshelf

The princess saves herself in this one, by Amanda Lovelace

Hii everyone! 🌿 Today I'm showing you "The princess saves herself in this one" by Amanda Lovelace. 🌿 I found this a very heavy collection of poems. They tell you about abuse, death and suicide, basically all terrible things in life, and the poor way most people treat eachother. I think they are very powerful because of their huge message and somewhat harsh tone, but on the other side I think this book is not meant for everyone. I, myself, love sweet poetry and worldwise words you could hang on a wall, "the princess saves herself in this one" is defenitely not that. I kind of have a love-hate relationship with these poems because I don't think they are beautiful, yet somehow they are meaningful. They made me sad and angry in an intense way which I did not enjoy, but I'm sure this is a genre others will totally love! 🌿 I think I am somewhat of a dreamer, and maybe I avoid the terrible things that happen (even though I read a lot of heavy material in books) but maybe it's just that I need a little joy at this moment, and these poems are very dark and twisty.

🌿 I am very interested in your opinions since I am having trouble to make up mine, so please let me know! 🌿 All the love, -E

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page