top of page
  • girlwithabookshelf

Love, Simon ,by Becky Albertalli


❤Showing who you are is hard. Especially when it isn’t your choice to do so. The movie edition of the book Simon vs the homosapiens agenda, Love, Simon, tells the story of Simon Spier: a young boy who falls in love with a mystery guy called ‘’Blue’’. They send each other e-mails with aliases in which they show their true self, and share the most personal thoughts they have together while finding out who they truly are and what they are looking for. Blue has yet to come out and Simon isn’t openly gay either but then again he isn’t the only one who knows. His blackmailer does too. When someone is continuously trying to get your secret out, how do you get the courage to feel accepted and stand up to it? Being gay in this world is not easy, but being gay and scared and forced to play along with a blackmailer trying to tell people you’re in love with another boy? That’s even harder. Because for Simon, falling in love is this big deal. This holy freaking huge awesome deal. ❤ . This book was beautiful. It wasn’t emotional or rough, but it was cute and funny and light. I think that’s really cool because we don’t see that very often anymore. Most contemporaries about big topics and issues people deal with are harsh and painful and sad. I went through this book rather fast, it was easy written and just felt very comfortable to read. For now I’ll give Love, Simon 3.5/5 stars. I loved the characters, how the topic was brought and how light and fun it was to read, but I just didn’t feel the spark I have when a book impacts me. Eventually I would recommend it and read it again with everything I know now , I really did like the book and all of it’s holy awesome cuteness. Becky Albertalli is definitely a writer to read more of, and look out for! . *Since I loved the movie SO MUCH, and I have a lot to say about the book to movie changes, an additional post will be up soon specifically about that. (I had so much to say the amount of words didn't fit in this post: be prepared for a bigass rant about it😂😂😂) See you soon!

Love, E❤

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page