top of page
  • girlwithabookshelf

Mosquitoland, by David Arnold

Hello my dear readers, 🌻 Mosquitoland by David Arnold fascinates me in many ways. It has bad reviews, A LOT actually, but I always thought it would be great so why not give it a try? 🌻 The story tells you about mim's life, a girl who hates her current home with her dad and stepmom. When she finds out her mother is ill, she wants to go see her but they don't let her go due to some mysterious reason. So what do you do if your mom is sick on the other side of the country and you are stuck in your town? You run. Mim takes a grey hound bus to the north which leads her to many unknown adventures. 🌻 Most reviews reffer to David Arnold as a "John green ripoff" but I think his writing is way more than that. To be fair I love john green and his style of writing but his stories never really get to me. David arnold has everything: the amazingly written characters, the interesting storyline and the humoristic ways a writer needs to keep you hooked. Mim owns a place in my heart now, every person she meets on the road gives her another layer, another emotional depth which makes her character so interesting and growing. I love it when someone can make you feel like a person grows, because that is a rare specialty. 🌻 Mosquitoland is one of the books i got on the Deventer Bookmarket last year for only 5 euros, but it is in store for 9. I really hope you'll all go check it out because it defenitely belongs in my fave read list of 2019! 🌻 I am so glad to be back and running guys! 🌻 All the love, E

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page